Dates: 10 – 13 December 2019
Venue: Mantra on View, Surfers Paradise.

2019 Quick Links:
-2019 Conference Website: Click here for registration
-Call for Abstracts & Submission (Closes August 31):
AAA2019 Conference Indigenous, Students & Carers Participation Funding Application

2019 Conference Details
Famous for its the sun, surf and sandy beaches, you are invited to join us on the Gold Coast for the Australian Archaeological Association (AAA) Annual Conference, ‘Disrupting Paradise: The Archaeology of the Driest Continent on Earth’. The AAA Conference will reflect on how archaeology has developed as a discipline and as a community in the 50 years since John Mulvaney published his landmark Prehistory of Australia. How has archaeology disrupted and continued to disrupt understandings of the past and ourselves? How have our understandings of people and transformation in Australia changed in the last 50 years? How has archaeology disrupted our dominant paradigms in archaeological method and theory? How has the culture of archaeological practice changed?

Details about sessions are available through the conference website:

Conference Registration (including early bird rates)

2019 Conference Website: Click here for registration

We encourage everyone to take advantage of the early-bird rates, which will be $200 for students and $400 for regular members.  These reduced rates, combined with other initiatives, aim to widen the appeal of the annual AAA conference and increase attendance. The 2019 conference website including registration can be accessed here

The AAA Annual Conference is a major event for archaeologists, members and non-members, to get together, present papers and posters or just find out about the latest archaeological discoveries. AAA has about 1000 members and the Annual Conference typically attracts about 400 to 500 delegates from Australia and overseas. It is typically held in early December of each year in a different location each year to encourage a broad-cross section of the archaeological community to attend and reduce travelling costs for participants.

Call for Abstracts (including submission of abstracts) Closing 31 August

Submission of abstracts:

The first presenters/authors of papers and posters are required to be members of the Association. Click here to become a member.

When submitting an abstract you will need to:

  • Provide a title, author(s) and affiliation(s)
  • Nominate ONE session theme – more details here.
  • Indicate whether the abstract is an oral presentation or a poster presentation
  • Provide a 300-word abstract to appear in the Conference Booklet (maximum 2050 characters including spaces)

Call for abstracts closes 31st of August


Subsidy Scheme for Indigenous, Student and Carer Participants

AAA2019 Conference Indigenous, Students & Carers Participation Funding Application

The conference will offer a limited number of subsidies to Indigenous and Student-member delegates and delegates with carer responsibilities. The scheme aims to encourage greater levels of Indigenous and Student participation in the Conference and to support the participation of delegates with carer responsibilities. Please note that non-Indigenous delegates can apply on behalf of Indigenous delegates. Delegates may apply for one of the three subsidies.

The amount of funding available in the Subsidy Scheme varies from year-to-year, based on the Conference budget and the amount of sponsorship received.

Further application details and submission requirements are outlined in the document above. Applications Close 29 September 2019